Spring brings the imposition of seasonal frost laws in many northern states and most Canadian provinces.  These states each have frost laws: Idaho, Iowa, Maine, Michigan, Minnesota, Montana, Nevada, New Hampshire, New York, North Dakota, Pennsylvania, South Dakota, Vermont, Washington, Wisconsin, Wyoming.  While they typically go into effect around March 1st and can continue into June, each state has different requirements; furthermore, frost laws often go into effect on a regional basis within a state and can change daily or weekly.

For example, in Michigan, effective Monday, March 1st, 2021, 6 a.m., weight restrictions were imposed on all state trunk line highways from the southern Michigan border north to and including M-20 from the interchange with US-31, Oceana County, East on M-20 to US-131, North on US-131 to M-20, Mecosta County, East on M-20 to US-10, Midland County, East on US-10 to M-25 in Bay City and including the entire thumb area.  Michigan weight restriction information and updates may be obtained by calling: 1-800-787-8960.  For companies located in Canada or New Jersey, information may be obtained by calling: 517-335-0023.

Canadian provinces with frost laws are: Alberta, British Columbia, Manitoba, New Brunswick, Nova Scotia, Ontario, Prince Edward Island, Quebec, Saskatchewan, and Yukon Territory

Always check the state or province’s website or the appropriate DOT for the latest information before a trip. Further information can be found at USDOT 511 Travel Information or Canada Travel Information.